2009 Preakness Rachel Alexandra Filly Wins

It has been 85 years since since a filly won the Preakness Stakes and proved to the boys that she has what it takes to be a true champion. Rachel Alexandra did just that.  With Calvin Borel aboard, the dynamic duo sailed across the finish live to claim victory ending any chance that thoroughbred racing would have a Triple Crown winner this season. Affirmed was the last Triple Crown winner in 1978.

Must we not forget, the lighting speed of 2009 Kentucky Derby winner, Mine That Bird, who once again dashed from behind and showed that he too has was it takes to be a true champion.  Both thoroughbreds will undoubtedly be noted as two of the all time greats in the field of horse racing.

After the 2009 derby many questioned whether or not Mine That Bird was a one time wonder and Rachel Alexandra’s win at the Kentucky Oaks ( won by 20 and 1/4th lengths) raised similar doubt.  Well I think now we have our answer…NO they are not one time wonders and they have both shown that they have the strength, ability speed and endurance to win any race.

Congratulations to both of them…they are truly two of the worlds greatest athletes.

For more details about Rachel Alexandra

Related Articles:

♦Who won the Preakness in 2008?

♦2009 Preakness Contenders

♦General Quarters A Cinderella Story

More related articles here

Watch 2009 Preakness Stakes Next Page

See 2009 Kentucky Derby Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *