Three Heisman Finalist Named

Heisman TrophyCollege football’s  most prestigious award, The Heisman Trophy, has named three finalist and it comes as no surprise that Florida quarterback Tim Tebow is on the list.

Joining Tebow as possible Heisman Trophy winners are Oklahoma quarterback Sam Bradford and Texas quarterback Colt McCoy.

If Tebow  who won the prestigious award in 2007 is selected again, he will join former Ohio state running back Archie Griffin who is the only  player to ever receive the trophy twice(1974-1975)


Heisman Facts:
The Heisman Memorial Trophy is awarded each year to the “most outstanding football player in the United States.”
December 12, 2015 – University of Alabama running back Derrick Henry is named the 2015 Heisman Trophy winner.
About the Trophy:
The Heisman Memorial Trophy is named in honor of long-time college football coach John W. Heisman, who was also the athletic director of the New York Downtown Athletic Club.
The trophy is 13.5 inches tall, weighs 45 lbs, and is cast in bronze.
The model for the trophy was Ed Smith, a player for New York University in 1934.
School with the most wins: Notre Dame, with 7 winners, and Ohio State with 7 wins (One player won twice – see below)
Voting and Award Process:
The Heisman Trophy Trust oversees balloting.
There are 929 ballots: “Sectional representatives” choose 145 voters, usually sports journalists, in six regions across the country, for 870 ballots. Each former Heisman winner can vote (58), and there is 1 popular vote, sponsored by Nissan.
Every year, several Heisman finalists travel to the award ceremony in New York where the winner’s name is revealed.
1935 –
First award, originally called the DAC Award (New York’s Downtown Athletic Club) goes to running back Jay Berwanger, a senior at the University of Chicago.
1936 – The award is renamed in honor of John Heisman.
1961 – Ernie Davis, halfback for Syracuse University, is the first African-American to win.
1968 – The winner is running back O.J. Simpson, from the University of Southern California.
1975 – Archie Griffin becomes the only person to win twice. The running back for Ohio State wins in 1974 and 1975.
1997 – Charles Woodson, cornerback for the University of Michigan, is the first defensive player to win.
2007 – University of Florida sophomore quarterback Tim Tebow is the first underclassman ever to win. The award usually goes to juniors and seniors.
September 13, 2010 – 2005 winner Reggie Bush (USC) forfeits his award after an investigation showed he broke NCAA rules by accepting gifts and perks from would-be agents.
December 8, 2012 – Texas A&M freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel is named the 2012 Heisman winner and is the first freshman to ever win the trophy.
December 14, 2013 – Florida State freshman quarterback, Jameis Winston is named the 2013 Heisman winner. He is the youngest, at 19, and the second freshman to win.
December 13, 2014 – University of Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota is named the 2014 Heisman winner. He is the first player from the University of Oregon and the first native of Hawaii to win the Heisman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

unique visitors counter